ACT Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards

International Nurses and Midwives Week 2018

Globally, nurses and midwives are recognised every year through:

  • The International Day of the Midwife which is celebrated annually on 5 May.

  • The International Nurses Day which is celebrated annually on 12 May.

The ACT Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards celebrate the distinctive contribution made individually and/or collectively by nurses and midwives to the people they care for. The Awards recognise the outstanding professional accomplishments made within the public and private hospitals and the community-based and primary health care sectors of the Territory.

The 2018 commemorative events are scheduled throughout the week of 5-12 May and include:

Saturday 5 May 2018


International Midwives Day

Local Celebrations

Tuesday 8 May 2018


Wreath Laying and Remembrance Ceremony

Australian War Memorial [1330 hours]

[Bus transport provided]

Thursday 10 May 2018


Nursing & Midwifery Excellence Awards Dinner

Hellenic Club 1800 hrs

Saturday 12 May 2018


International Nurses Day


Please direct inquiries to:

Sally de-Vitry Smith
Nursing and Midwifery Advisor
Office of the Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officer
P: 6244 4980