ACT Health System Council

The ACT Health System Council is a ministerial advisory body established in November 2023.

The Council provides advice on matters referred by the Minister for Health, the Minister for Mental Health, ACT Health and Canberra Health Services.

The Council aims to improve service integration, planning and commissioning across the ACT health system. The Council provides advice on system leadership, performance and future directions of the health system, and health workforce issues.

The Council works toward creating a better value health system through optimised services and changes in culture.

About the Council

Meeting communiques


You can contact the Council via email at

Group Photo of Ministers and ACT Health System Council members at the inaugural meeting.

Group photo of Ministers and Council members at the inaugural meeting.

From left to right: Mr Dave Peffer, Ms Maddy Northam, Prof Eugene Soh, Dr Nigel Lyons (Chair), Ms Rachel Stephen-Smith (ACT Minister for Health), Prof Russell Gruen, Ms Donna Murray, Ms Lauren Anthes, Ms Emma Davidson (ACT Minister for Mental Health), Dr Elaine Pretorius, Ms Darlene Cox, Ms Rebecca Cross, Ms Stacy Leavens, Mr Matt Sharp, Mr Tom Cullen, absent: Prof Michelle Lincoln.

Page last updated on: 20 Feb 2024