Allied Health Excellence Awards

We organise and support the annual Allied Health Excellence Awards. There are eight Award Categories offered in 2019, with the addition of a Category recognising Allied Health Excellence in Contribution to Improvement in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health and Wellbeing.

2019 Allied Health Excellence Awards

The 2019 ACT Health Allied Health Excellence Awards were celebrated on Tuesday 9th April 2019 at the Hellenic Club Woden.

The Office of Professional Leadership and Education congratulates all award nominees and recipients.

Award Categories

Allied Health Assistant Excellence

Recipient: Veronique Clyde – Allied Health Assistant, Canberra Health Services

Nominees: Beth Orr – Allied Health Assistant, Canberra Health Services

Allied Health Clinical Excellence 

Recipient: Debra Harris – Clinical Psychologist, Canberra Health Services

Nominees: Jessica Caruso – Speech Pathologist, Canberra Health Services; Simone Collins – Social Worker, Canberra Health Services; Kelsey Cook – Podiatrist,  Canberra Health Services; Mario Gonzalez – Social Worker,  Calvary Public Hospital Bruce; Jane Hermolin – Physiotherapist, Canberra Health Services; Susie Hines – Social Worker,  Canberra Health Services; Kate Moran – Counsellor,  Canberra Health Services; Adrian Rumore – Extended Scope Physiotherapist, Canberra Health Services; Cate Thompson – Social Worker, Calvary Public Hospital Bruce; Patrick Tito – Radiographer,  Canberra Health Services

Allied Health Early Career Excellence 

Recipient: Michael Wilkinson – Physiotherapist, Canberra Health Services

Nominees: Sara Dias – Social Worker,  Canberra Health Services

Allied Health Education Excellence 

Recipient: Katie Cole – Occupational Therapy Clinical Educator, Canberra Health Services

Nominees: Geetha Warrier – Senior Scientist – Cytology, Canberra Health Services

Allied Health Excellence in Provision of Services to Improve Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health and Wellbeing

Recipient: Women, Youth and Children Dietitians, Canberra Health Services Rebecca Aherne, Pip Golley,  Nicola Graham, Tamara Shirvington and Shien Ee Tan

Nominees: ACT Diabetes Service Podiatrists and Dietitian, Canberra Health Services Noshin Lou, Lynsey McDowell, Joanna Milgate, Kate Storer and Freya Wilson

Allied Health Management and Leadership Excellence 

Recipient: Kerrie Andriolo – Chief Scientist – Haematology, Canberra Health Services

Nominees: Amanda McLean – Candice Li – Chief Scientist – Immunoassay, Canberra Health Services; Acting Community Care Podiatry Manager, Canberra Health Services; Andrew Slattery – Nutrition Manager, Canberra Health Services; Fiona Webb – Chief Scientist – Cytogenetics, Canberra Health Services

Allied Health Research Excellence

Recipient: Donald McLean – Principal Medical Physics Specialist,  Canberra Health Services

Nominees: Tracy Harb – Dietitian,  Canberra Health Services; Rosalyn Stanton – Clinical Educator Rehabilitation, Canberra Health Services

Allied Health Team Excellence 

Recipient: Neuropsychologists, Psychology  and Counselling Team, Canberra Health Services Louise Barrett and Yu-Lung Chan

Nominees: Brindabella Rehabilitation Service Team, Canberra Health Services Lilian Anderson, Teena Bacon, Glenda Cadzow, Melissa Chapman, Amy Coleman, Rhiannon Daisley, Carmen Donkersley, Grace Field, Chelsea Gatehouse, Supriya Gogate, Jasmin Gray, Lisa Hornell, Isaac Knott, Emily Lee, Lily Liberman, Samantha Marwick, Allison Maher, Siobhan McCoy, Rosalie Moore, Laura Murnane, Jaimee Palagyi,  Kacie Patterson, Rachel Pell, Tegan Reid, Jesica Rennie, Emma Smith, Megan Sullivan, Natasha Synnott, Lawrence Valic, Kevin Weeks and Felicity Wilson; Childhood Early Intervention Team, Canberra Health Services Alexandra Cobb, Karina Dunn, Kate Gray, Charmaine Nicoll and Jo Vickers; General Medicine, Adult Eating Disorder Team, Canberra Health Services Clare Gallagher, Vanessa Hoban, Eleni Pavlidou, Nicole Roberts, Claire Speer, Ashwin Swaminathan and nursing staff of General Medicine Ward 8B;  Parkinson’s service – Brindabella Rehabilitation Service, Canberra Health Services Melissa Chapman, Jasmin Gray, Natasha Synnott and Felicity Wilson; Pharmacy Team, Calvary Public Hospital Bruce Susan Alexander, Megan Arnold,  Rhoda Au Yeung, Deanne Benton, Emma Booth, Ben Coghlan, Fiona Crossley, Nhi Dinh, Emily Diprose, Ben Douma, Elaine Griffiths, Tina Kelley, Sarah Khoo, Kate Lawrence, Miriam Lawrence, Yolande Lindsay, Josh O’Connell, Karen Panozzo, Erin Patterson, Vicki Patterson, Malwina Pliszczak, Rebecca Res, Louise Rix, Briohny Roberts, Joanne Rogers, Elaine Seaton, Sarah Smith, Ai May Tan, Paul Tran, Sarah Villasis, Regula Woodtli, Kellie Wright, John Wsol and Joyce Yeap; Speech Pathology Allied Health Assistant Team, Canberra Health Services Alannah Catalinac and  Shareen Underwood

2019 Allied Health Professional of the Year

Recipient: Donald McLean – Principal Medical Physics Specialist,  Canberra Health Services

How to nominate

Anyone is welcome to make a nomination for the Allied Health Excellence Awards, including self-nomination. All nominations must be signed off by the relevant Director of Allied Health before the advertised closing date.  

Nominations for the 2019 round are now closed.

Nominations for the 2020 round will open in March 2020.

For more information on the awards and making a nomination, please see the links below:

Information for nominators for the 2020 Allied Health Excellence Awards will be updated closer to the round opening.

Page last updated on: 6 May 2019