Reward and recognition schemes

Allied Health Excellence Awards

We organise and support the annual Allied Health Excellence Awards. There are eight Award Categories offered in 2019, with the addition of a Category recognising Allied Health Excellence in Contribution to Improvement in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health and Wellbeing.

2018 Allied Health Excellence Awards

The 2018 ACT Health Allied Health Excellence Awards were celebrated on Tuesday 3rd April 2018 at the Federal Golf Club.

The Chief Allied Health Office congratulates all award nominees and recipients - please see below for details.

Award Categories

Award for Allied Health Assistant Excellence
Recipient: Lucy Poplin, Physiotherapy Assistant (Calvary)
Nominees: Christopher Lipscomb, Recovery Support Officer (MHJHADS)

Award for Allied Health Clinical Excellence
Recipient: Glen McPherson,
Radiation Therapist (CACHS)
Nominees:  Jacqui Barker Physiotherapist (RACC), Jesica Rennie, Speech Pathologist (RACC), Eleni Pavlidou, Clinical Psychologist (Medicine), Georgina Newton-Walters, Physiotherapist (Calvary), Kathryn Rodda, Speech pathologist ( Medicine), Kerrie Phelps, Dietitian (RACC)

Award for Allied Health Early Career Excellence
Recipient: Peta Hoffmann, Clinical Psychologist  (Medicine)
Nominees: Renee Glenn, Physiotherapist (Calvary), Nicole Shaw, Speech Pathologist (RACC), Catherine Carnevale, Occupational Therapist (Medicine), Laura Murnane, Occupational Therapist (RACC)

Award for Allied Health Education Excellence
Recipient: Ned Jelbart, Inter-professional Learning Coordinator, Chief Allied Health Office (CAHO)
Nominees: Kelli Rixon, Clinical Educator for Clinical Measurement Sciences, Located in CAHO, provides services to Division of Medicine, Jeanie Weber, Senior Physiotherapist and Student Coordinator (Calvary), Roisin O’Hagan, Occupational Therapist (MHJHADS)

Award for Allied Health Management and Leadership Excellence
Recipient: Michael De Souza, Hospital Scientist (ACT Pathology)

Nominees: Jennifer Elliott, Director of Clinical Record Service (CSS), Thomas Roberts, Occupational Therapist (MHJHADS), Claire Pearce, Occupational Therapist (MHJHADS)

Award for Allied Health Research Excellence
Recipient: Connie Galati, Clinical Psychologist (MHJHADS)
Nominees: Kathryn Rodda, Speech Pathologist (Medicine)

Award for Allied Health Team Excellence
Recipient: Cardiorespiratory Team, Acute Support Physiotherapy - Margot Green, Vince Marzano, Bernie Bissett, Katie Erwin, Tayne Ryall, Katie Goodsell, Carolyn Smith, Maja Leech, Joelie Parker, (Medicine)
Nominees: Community Care Managers - Dominic Furphy, Kari Moore, Patrice Higgins,  Sarah Gordon, Kerryn Maher (RACC), Dhulwa Mental Health Unit Allied Health Team - Gillian Sharp, Sab Radhakrishnan, Dinah Coleman, Jana Prencel, Jean Xu, Kate Barker, Su Hanfling, Adrian Baxter, Jaspreet Singh, Rebecca Byrne, Zac Webster & Zoia Rusanov (MHJHADS), Supported Accommodation Team- Jade Nolan, Jonathon Amirthanathan, Karen Clarke, Megan Ryan, Shantell Hunter, Ian Pennell, Brianan Jones & Kasha Mendolicchio (MHJHADS)

2018 Allied Health Professional of the Year
Recipient: Cardiorespiratory Team, Acute Support Physiotherapy -
Margot Green, Vince Marzano, Bernie Bissett, Katie Erwin, Tayne Ryall, Katie Goodsell, Carolyn Smith, Maja Leech, Joelie Parker, (Medicine)

How to nominate in 2019

Anyone is welcome to make a nomination for the Allied Health Excellence Awards, including self-nomination. All nominations must be signed off by the relevant Director of Allied Health before the advertised closing date.  Information on nominating for the 2019 round is below.

Nominations for the 2019 Allied Health Excellence Awards open on Monday 14 January 2019 and close 5pm on 22 February 2019.

In 2019, nomination is via online form.

Closing date: 5pm Friday 22 February 2019. Late or incomplete submissions will not be accepted.

For more information on the awards and making a nomination, please see the links below:

In 2019 there is a new award category to recognise the contribution of allied health staff in improving Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health and wellbeing.


You can make a nomination on behalf of any eligible allied health professional that is permanently employed by CHS or Calvary Public Hospital Bruce. You may also nominate an eligible allied health professional from CHS or Calvary Public Hospital Bruce who can prove they have been continuously employed on a temporary contract for at least 12 months at the nomination closing date.

Award Recognition

All nominees and award winners receive a framed certificate and are recognised at a formal presentation. Category winners also receive a $500 Professional Development Grant.  Category winners are considered for the Allied Health Professional of the Year which provides an additional $1500 Professional Development Grant.

You can contact the Awards Officer, or on 5124 9545.

Page last updated on: 11 Jan 2019