Annual Nurses and Midwives Excellence Awards

ACT Nurses & Midwives 2022 Excellence Awards

Around the world, nurses and midwives are recognised through the International Day of the Midwife (5th May) and International Nurses Day (12th May). 

In the ACT, we celebrate the exemplary professional contributions made by nurses and midwives across our region with the Nurses and Midwives Excellence Awards. The Awards are open to enrolled nurses, registered nurses and midwives in the ACT, including those from private and public health facilities, and community and primary healthcare sectors. The winners will be announced at the Awards presentation on 12th May 2022.

If you know a nurse or midwife who you can see making a difference on a daily basis, then take this opportunity to have their work and efforts understood, appreciated, and recognised by the wider community. Nominate the nurses and midwives who inspire you, so we can all join you in thanking them for their work.

Nominations for 2022:
Open 13 December 2021
Close 25 February 2022 

To nominate a nurse, midwife or team for one or more awards, please click here. 

Full information about the awards can be found in the 2022 Nomination Guidelines.

If you are not sure how to make a nomination, you can find some helpful tips and tricks here or please contact the Nursing and Midwifery Office at

2021 winners

The 2021 ACT Nurses and Midwives Excellence Awards were celebrated on Thursday 6 May.

Congratulations to all winners of the 2021 ACT Excellence Awards!

Nurse of the Year 2021 - Kirsty Cummin, Weston Creek Walk in Centre, Canberra Health Services

An outstanding team leader the Walk in Centre, Kirsty Cummin was nominated for her strong communications and exceptional listening skills. In response to the COVID-19 pandemic Kirsty extended her role to the Respiratory Assessment Clinic, assisting with COVID testing. More recently her responsibilities were extended to delivering care to those in hotel quarantine and overseeing staff delivering care in the medi-hotel. Despite extended responsibilities, Kirsty consistently maintained high levels of professionalism with exceptional communication to all staff, ancillary staff, patients, and relatives.

Nurse of the Year 2021, Kirsty Cummin


Midwife of the Year 2021 - Jessica Boutzos, Maternity Services Calvary Public Hospital, Bruce

As a midwife at Calvary Public Hospital, Jessica Boutzos is parent-focussed, caring, and collaborative. This year, in collaboration with a nurse practitioner from the Emergency Department, Jessica developed an early pregnancy loss support package to assist staff – initially intended for the emergency department but applicable to all areas of the hospital. 

Midwife of the Year 2021, Jessica Boutzos


Team of the Year 2021 - Ward 11B, Aged Care, Canberra Health Services

By communicating with patients and family members compassionately and understanding how confronting and stressful a hospital admission can be, the team is dedicated to providing their patients positive end of life care. Throughout this communication they build positive and meaningful relationships with patients and their families.

Team of the Year 2021, Ward 11B


Excellence in Management Practice - Nicole Slater, Emergency Department, Canberra Health Services

As Assistant Director of Nursing in the emergency department at Canberra Health Services, Nicole Slater fosters leadership and knowledge among her team of senior nurses. She consistently strives for improvements to the working environment of the emergency department and is an advocate for professional and personal growth, encouraging staff development opportunities.

Excellence in Management Practice, Nicole Slater


Excellence in Leadership Practice - Wendy Beckingham, Infection Prevention and Control, Canberra Health Services

Wendy Beckingham leads a team of dedicated health professionals with the role of minimising infection risks for patients, health care workers, and the public. She has developed a dedicated team of infection prevention and control experts, training and mentoring her own staff and nurses from across the territory both in public and private health services. 

Excellence in Leadership Practice, Wendy Beckingham


Excellence in Clinical Practice - Nicole Shiels, Tuggeranong Community Nursing Team

Nicole Shiels is well-respected in her role as Southside Complex Care Clinical Nurse Consultant. She demonstrates compassion and care in her role supporting clinicians to manage patients with complex care needs and support patients to navigate health service systems. Nicole brings exceptional insight and an ability to work with people at their most vulnerable, assisting both patients and clinicians during difficult care decisions.

Excellence in Clinical Practice, Nicole Shiels


Excellence in Educational Practice - Jodie Murray, Learning and Development, Calvary Bruce Private Hospital

Jodie Murray developed the Learning and Development team from its beginning, growing it to a team of six who provide educational support across Calvary Bruce Private Hospital. This included developing a two-day orientation program for new staff members structured around the National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards.

Excellence in Educational Practice, Jodie Murray


Excellence in Quality Improvement or Research Practice - Stephanie Parry, Justice Health, Canberra Health Services

Stephanie Parry is a registered nurse at the Alexander Maconochie Centre, where she demonstrates outstanding commitment to her work.  By continually improving her knowledge and skills she ensures positive patient outcomes, empathising with her clients and providing considerate care to some the community’s most vulnerable members.

2020 winners

The 2020 ACT Nurses and Midwives Excellence Awards were celebrated on Tuesday 12 May.

Congratulations to all winners of the 2020 ACT Excellence Awards!

Christopher Harris

ACT Nurse of the Year – Christopher Harris, University of Canberra Hospital, Canberra Health Services

Kathy Coonan

ACT Midwife of the Year – Kathy Coonan, Calvary Public Hospital Bruce

Britt Shephard and Shannon Narracott

Team of the Year – Britt Shephard and Shannon Narracott, Canberra Health Services

Ward 11A Nursing Team

Excellence in Clinical Practice – Ward 11A Nursing Team, Canberra Health Services

Rachel Bilton-Simek

Excellence in Educational Practice – Rachel Bilton-Simek, Clare Holland House

Heather Needham

Excellence in Leadership – Heather Needham, Canberra Health Services

Mercy Lukose

Excellence in Management – Mercy Lukose, Canberra Health Services

Nikki Johnston

Excellence in Quality Improvement or Research – Nikki Johnston, Clare Holland House

Page last updated on: 13 Dec 2021